Our authoring environment works with different authoring groups. Content is always created within an authoring group, and authors can be assigned to different author groups as well. Author groups are therefore a great way to determine which institution and which users have access to which content.


University A creates original content in an author group called University A Author Group. This ensures that other universities, who are not part of this author group, have no access to content created by University A.

The Engineering department of University B creates original content in an author group called University B Engineering. This ensures that other departments, for example the Economics department, within University B cannot create new content for the Engineering department. It can also be used simply to cluster authors from different departments together.

Rights to an author group

Authors can have different types of permission within an author group:

Write: Create, edit and publish original content.

Write/notpublish: Create and edit, but not publish content.


See what is created and published in this group. Copy content to another group, after which you are free to edit that content without affecting the original. You cannot create or publish original content in this group.

For example: Author A can WRITE in the author group specific to his/her institution, and has READ/COPY rights to SOWISO's turnkey material to copy and edit.

Translate: Can only translate content in this group. 

Did this answer your question?